top of page

Don R. Davis began teaching vocal music in Arkansas in 1964 at Bald Knob Public Schools. He taught at Jacksonville High School from 1972-1979 before becoming Director of Music and Activities for the Pulaski County Special School District from 1979-1994.  Following his retirement in 1994, he taught Choral Music and Fine Arts Music at Arkansas State University Beebe.


Mr. Davis attended Pikeville College, Pikeville, Kentucky, and received his Bachelor of Music Education degree from Ouachita Baptist University in 1963. He received the Master of Science in Education degree from Arkansas State University and the Music Supervision certification from the University of Arkansas. 


During his teaching career, Mr. Davis received the “Good Apple Award” as Director of Music and Activities in the Pulaski County Special School District, the Teacher of the Year award from Jacksonville High School in 1976, and the Outstanding Young Educator’s Award while at Bald Knob High School. 


Among his other contributions, Mr. Davis served as the coordinator/publisher of the ArkCDA Approved Music List. In the summer, he, Jack Ballard, Bob Fuller, and Bob Taylor would meet in the upstairs loft at Bean Music Company in Little Rock to read new choral publications for the coming year. This would eventually lead to the formation of the ArkCDA “Reading Clinic,” now known as the ARACDA Summer Conference.  


Mr. Davis conducted district and state music clinics, inservices, workshops, and served as adjudicator for vocal music contests. He served as the Arkansas State Chairman of the American Choral Directors Association and was President of the Arkansas Choral Directors Association from 1969-1974. Mr. Davis was the long-time music director at First Baptist Church in Kensett, Arkansas. 

50th Anniversary - Angie Weaver and Don Davis (Presidents) (1).jpg

Don Davis with Angie Weaver, President 2017-2019

Don Davis photo (2).jpg
50th Anniversary - Don Davis and Tom Street (1).jpg

Don Davis with Tom Street, ArkCDA Executive Director

50th Anniversary Don Davis Tom Street Curtis Minor - 3 Generations of Directors & Presiden

Don Davis with former student Tom Street, and Curtis Minor, former student of Tom Street


Former ArkCDA Presidents at the ArkCDA 50th Anniversary:  L to R, Don Davis, Gary Morris, Tom Street, Mike Dye, Bennie Carol Wade, Scott Whitfield, Tina Niederbrach, Craig Jones, Gaye Mings, Carrie Taylor, and Angela Weaver.

Copy of Don Davis - Mark Langley, Alison Mullen, Angie Weaver.jpg

Mark Langley, Alison Davis Mullen (daughter), and Angela Weaver

bottom of page